JAPANESE
ENCEPHALITIS

Japanese encephalitis is a potentially deadly infectious disease found mainly in Asia, where 68.000 clinical cases are estimated to occur each year. (source)

Japanese Encephalitis Flyer
Japanese Encephalitis Poster
For further information please contact your physician or pharmacist.

Key facts

  • Japanese encephalitis (JE) is a rare disease in travellers, but can have serious consequences (1)
  • The disease is endemic in 24 countries in Asia and the Western Pacific, not just in Japan (1)
  • JE is caused by bites from Culex mosquitoes which carry the JE virus (1-3)
  • JE causes inflammation of the brain, which can cause coma, paralysis and death (2,3)
  • Surviving JE sufferers may be left permanently disabled both physically and mentally (1,3)
  • There is currently no treatment for JE (2)
  • Vaccination and preventing mosquito bites are the only methods of protection (2)

What is JE?

Japanese encephalitis (JE) is a potentially serious disease (2) which is caused by the virus Flavivirus, and is closely related to Zika virus, dengue fever, Japanese encephalitis, yellow fever and West Nile virus. (1,4) JE is the main cause of viral encephalitis in Asia. (2) JE is caused by infection from mosquitoes, mainly the Culex species, which have bitten an animal infected with the JE virus. (1-3)
Video XYZ

Where does JE occur?



Adapted from: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Yellow Book 2016. Chapter 3 Infectious Diseases Related to Travel. Japanese Encephalitis. July 2015

JE is endemic in 24 countries across Asia and the Western Pacific. (1,2) Transmission of the virus through mosquitoes occurs mainly in rural agricultural areas, and there is an association with rice cultivation and flood irrigation. In temperate areas of Asia, transmission is seasonal and it is believed that JE disease is highest in the summer and autumn time. In the subtropics and the tropics, JE transmission varies and the disease may occur all year round. (1)

Who is at risk of contracting JE?

Anyone who travels to areas where JE is endemic is at risk of contracting JE. (1) Travellers who are likely to spend time outdoors in rural or agricultural areas or participate in outdoor activities, such as camping, hiking, trekking, biking, fishing, hunting or farming are at risk. Staying in accommodation without air conditioning, screens or mosquito nets can also put travellers at risk. (2)

What are the symptoms and lasting effects of JE?

Most people infected with JE will not show any symptoms and will not develop the disease. (1) However, in a small number of cases, acute encephalitis is the most common clinical sign of the disease, observed between 5 and 15 days after infection. (1) This shows itself as sudden onset of fever, headache and vomiting, which progresses to inflammation of the brain. The infected person’s mental state may deteriorate, there may be neurological changes, physical weakness and movement disorders, such as tremors and rigidity, and seizures can cause coma or paralysis. (1-3) JE causes death in up to a third of cases. (1,2) Among survivors of JE, one third to a half of all sufferers will have irreversible neurologic, cognitive, or psychiatric disabilities. (1)

How can JE be treated

There is currently no specific treatment for JE – prevention is the only way of protecting against the disease. (1,2)



References

  1. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Yellow Book 2016. Chapter 3 Infectious Diseases Related to Travel. Japanese Encephalitis. July 2015. wwwnc.cdc.gov
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Japanese Encephalitis. Frequently Asked Questions. August 2015. cdc.gov
  3. PATH. Landmark protection for Asia’s children. path.org
  4. Fit for Travel. Zika Virus Infection. fitfortravel.nhs.uk

CHOLERA

learn more

INFLUENZA

learn more

TYPHOID

learn more
Please update your browser...

JAPANISCHE
ENZEPHALITIS

Die Japanische Enzephalitis ist eine potentiell tödlich verlaufende Infektionskrankheit, die vor allem in Asien vorkommt. (Quelle)

Japanische Enzephalitis Flyer
Japanische Enzephalitis Poster
Für mehr Information kontaktieren Sie bitte Ihren Arzt oder Apotheker.

Wichtige Fakten

  • Die Japanische Enzephalitis (JE) ist eine seltene Reisekrankheit, die jedoch schwerwiegende Folgen haben kann (1)
  • In 24 asiatischen Ländern inklusive Japan tritt die Krankheit endemisch auf (1)
  • Verursacht wird JE durch einen Stich von Stechmücken (Culex sp.), die den JE Virus in sich tragen (1-3)
  • JE bewirkt eine Hirnhautentzündung mit Folgen wie Koma, Paralyse oder sogar Tod (2,3)
  • Überlebende einer JE-Erkrankung können dauerhafte körperliche und psychische Schäden erleiden (1,3)
  • Gegenwärtig gibt es keine spezifische Behandlung für JE (2)
  • Nur durch Impfung und das Vermeiden von Stechmücken-Stichen kann man sich vor JE schützen (2)

Was ist JE?

Die Japanische  Enzephalitis (JE) ist eine potentiell schwerwiegende Erkranung (2) hevorgerufen durch das Japanese Enzephalitis-Virus, welches zur gleichen Familie wie z.B. das FSME-Virus, Zika-Virus, Denguefieber-Virus oder Gelbfieber-Virus gehört. (1,4) In Asien ist JE die Hauptursache für virale Enzephalitis. (2) Sie wird durch einen Stechmückenstich, hauptsächlich Culex-Spezies übertragen, die zuvor ein mit dem JE-Virus infiziertes Tier gestochen haben. (1-3)
Video XYZ

Wo tritt JE auf?



Angelehnt an: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Yellow Book 2016. Chapter 3 Infectious Diseases Related to Travel. Japanese Encephalitis. July 2015

In 24 Ländern Asiens und im West-Pazifik gilt JE als endemische Krankheit.(1,2) Das Virus wird durch Stechmücken hauptsächlich in landwirtschaftlichen Gebieten übertragen; es gibt einen Zusammenhang mit Reisanbau und Bewässerung mit Überflutung. In klimatisch gemäßigteren Zonen Asiens tritt die Übertragung saisonal auf; man geht davon aus, dass JE am häufigsten im Sommer und Herbst auftritt. In den Subtropen und Tropen variiert die Übertragung von JE und die Krankheit kann ganzjährig auftreten. (1)

Wer kann an JE erkranken?

Jeder, der in endemische Gebiete reist, ist dem Risiko einer JE-Erkrankung ausgesetzt. (1) Reisende, die planen, in ländlichen Gebieten ihre Zeit im Freien zu verbringen oder Freizeitaktivitäten wie Camping, Wandern, Trekking, Radfahren, Fischen, Jagen oder Landwirtschaft nachzugehen, sind besonders gefährdet. Der Aufenthalt in einer Unterkunft ohne Klimaanlage, Fenstergitter oder Moskitonetz kann ebenfalls das Risiko für Reisende erhöhen. (2)

Was sind die Symptome und Langzeitfolgen von JE?

Die meisten mit JE infizierten Personen zeigen keine Symptome und erleben keinen Ausbruch der Krankheit. (1) Eine aktue Hirnhautentzündung (Enzphalitis) kann zwischen 5 und 15 Tagen nach der Infektion beobachtet werden. (1) Dies zeigt sich in Form eines plötzlichen Fieberanfalls. Kopfschmerzen sowie Erbrechen können auftreten und zu einer Hirnhautentzündung fortschreiten. Der psychische Zustand der Person kann sich verschlechtern und neurologische Veränderungen können auftreten. Körperliche Schwäche und Bewegungsstörungen wie Zittern, Muskelsteifheit sowie Krampfanfälle können zu Koma und Lähmung führen. (1-3) In ungefähr zwei Drittel der Fälle verläuft die Krankheit tödlich. (1,2) Bei den Überlebenden leidet ein Drittel bis die Hälfte der Betroffenen an irreversiblen neurologischen, kognitiven oder psychiatrischen Störungen. (1)

Wie kann JE behandelt werden?

Derzeit gibt es keine wirksame Behandlung gegen JE. Es kommen lediglich unterstützende und intensivmedizinische Maßnahmen zum Einsatz. Vorbeugung ist die einzige Möglichkeit, sich vor der Krankheit zu schützen. (1,3)



Referenzen

  1. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Yellow Book 2016. Chapter 3 Infectious Diseases Related to Travel. Japanese Encephalitis. July 2015. wwwnc.cdc.gov
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Japanese Encephalitis. Frequently Asked Questions. August 2015. cdc.gov
  3. PATH. Landmark protection for Asia’s children. path.org
  4. Fit for Travel. Zika Virus Infection. fitfortravel.nhs.uk

CHOLERA

mehr erfahren

INFLUENZA

mehr erfahren
Please update your browser...